Loco-coco Scones

fr_180

It takes determination, obsession and passion to bake at 11 at night (thus the name). With leftover curry leaves from my roast and after tossing around various flavour combinations in my mind, I hereby give the world my rad coconut-curry-leaf scones.

Loco-Coco Scones

*Makes 12 regular size scones (muffin-sized)

1.5 cup all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

4-6 tablespoons unsalted butter (or 60-80g)

0.5 cup raw sugar

2 medium eggs

250-280 ml coconut cream

10 sprigs fresh curry leaves

Pre-heat oven to 160 deg Celsius – I know virtually all recipes start with pre-heating the oven, but really, it depends on what you are making and you need to think your mise en place through. For one, in this recipe, I actually made my coconut-curry-leaf infusion first and got the oven cranking mid-way, because I knew I had enough time to get the latter done. Moral of this paragraph: think, think, think your way through as you cook.

In a small pot, bring the coconut cream to a gentle boil on low heat – small bubbles, nothing volcanic. As that happens, strip the leaves off the sprigs and tear them in half before adding them to the cream. Keep stirring as you are doing this, as coconut cream burns so very, very effortlessly. When the mixture is simmering delicately (about 1-2 minutes), turn the heat off and pour the mixture into a blender. Blend well, leaving clear specks of green in the mixture so that gives the finished pastries some colour (a la pesto, rather than just kryptonite juice).

In a mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar and add in the eggs. I used raw sugar, which adds a distinct hint of oriental earthiness, and is also hypothetically a ton healthier. In another bowl, add the flour, salt and baking powder together and mix well. Combine both the dry and wet mix, whisking well and ardently as you do so. Finally, pour in the coconut-curry-leaf blend and incorporate that evenly into the batter.

Bake for 25-28 minutes at 160 degrees Celsius. Let them rest for a bit after exiting the oven, and serve with spiced or floral tea.

I confess, I meant for them to be muffins, but they turned out scone-like and it was past the witching hour so I (nay, the want of sleep) allowed them to morph into scones. More moisture i.e. coconut cream, addition of coconut milk would turn these into muffins. The scones were delightfully fragrant, and the flavours perfectly balanced – too much curry leaves would induce gagging and aversion towards future creation. Toted these along to class on a bright Thursday morrow, and honestly, most folks raised their brows when I told them the flavours of the scones. Might I just say that while some of these skeptical epicureans turned my pastries down, most of them guzzled them in no time. Not for the hesitant, I say.

More explosive experiments ahead x

Leave a Reply

