Timely caricatures

caughtmoment

The Sartorialist’s post: http://www.thesartorialist.com/photos/on-the-street-avenue-du-president-wilson-paris-6/ is well worth a read (fine, most of his posts are anyway) and a return to writing.

Growing pains has been the single common denominator of all the years (few as they are) of my young, young adult life. Whoever who told you that the terrible twos was just a phase was clearly mistaken; they return as the terrible-yet-terrific twenties.

If anything, my decade has been peppered with never-ending questions, dilemmas and decisions: how do I want to dress? What do I want to study at school? What gadget to acquire next? And most of all, who do I want to be? What do I really want to look back on the day I hit the big 3-0?

Frankly, I shrug and toss and cringe at most of these questions still; the answers elude me. And yet, what I’ve concluded is this: in this not-a-girl-not-yet-a-woman phase the answers matter, but not as much as the journey and its pains and gains that will take to finally arrive at them. If life was merely about one-liners and closures, Wikipedia and all its counterparts would have sufficed.

So….this twenty-something is going to keep shrugging, battling and waltzing forward, enjoying her necessary doses of joy, pain and sunny-side-ups while she is at it.

Oh, and it’s Happy World Egg Day by the way! Crack some and lighten up.

 

Leave a Reply

