gay // gray

“So, what are you going to do when you graduate?” he asked in a genial voice.

“Write. Be a writer.” she replies with as much conviction as she can muster.

“Ohhh…a writer! Like Alfian Sa’at! Do you know him?” the elderly gentlemen’s voice tinges with excitement.

“I do! He’s a great writer and poet. And playwright.” the young woman responds eagerly, glad that she’s talking about something so close to her heart.

“Ah, I know him too. I know his parents…I still talk to his mother sometimes. It’s kind of sad…” the man’s voice trails off.

He adds, “I don’t want to say it…”

“Because he’s gay?” she says.

“I didn’t say it, you did. It is sad.” the man sighs and hands over the change.

Yet another heartening and thought-provoking wee-hour chat with a cab driver on my way home from the bar. More to come, I promise.

Leave a Reply

